Skip to content

LittleMrsOrganized

I'm just a girl with a labelmaker

Since I did the 7 day juice fast and embarked on a low fat, low sugar, clean diet I’ve been trying to alter my favorite recipes. Some still need more tweaking…such as the (very dry) peanut butter cookies that went into the trash last week 😦 Throughout the week I’ve been making a banana smoothie every morning for breakfast (I’ll share that soon), but on the weekends I like something a little more time consuming and hearty. So I set out to create a delicious and HEALTHY pancake recipe…I compiled and combined several recipes and made a few changes of my own and tried round one of Hearty Pancakes…and the search ended, they were yummy! So naturally, I couldn’t wait until Friday to share my recipe…Enjoy~~

YOU WILL NEED

– 2 eggs, lightly beaten

– 2 cups soy milk (I used vanilla, but plain is fine too)

– 1/2 cup wheat germ

– 2 teaspoons baking powder

– 1/2 teaspoon salt

– 1  1/2 cups whole wheat flour

– 2 packets stevia (this measured out to be just under 1 tsp)

– Optional: You can add 2 tablespoons of canola oil if you prefer thinner, crisper pancakes. This is a very thick batter, so even adding the oil will not make them as thin as traditional pancakes. I made half without, then added 1 tablespoon of oil to the remaining batter for experimental reasons and both were yummy.

WHAT TO DO:

– Whisk eggs in medium mixing bowl– Add all ingredients to mixing bowl and combine with hand mixer-Use a measuring cup to scoop 1/2(ish) cupfuls of batter onto a skillet or griddle heated to medium-Flip when the little bubbles that form begin popping– Flip and cook for about an equal amount of time on the other side…I just peel up the edge with the spatula to checkThis recipe made 9 pancakes (I dropped one on the floor…the dog approved)

I planned on topping these with fresh fruit but the blackberries and raspberries I got 3 days ago were furry 😦 So (a small amount of) maple syrup it is…

AND I get to squeeze in a little bit of organization! Since it was just me eating these this morning (well, and the dog) I had six pancakes left over. I packaged the pancakes two to a bag on small paper plates for a quick weekday breakfast! Not sure how well they will heat up so I’ll come back with an update, I froze one bag to test that out too.

 

…speaking of organization, I have been working on an awesome bedroom closet project…details this week!

 

Tags: , , ,

