Skip to content

LittleMrsOrganized

I'm just a girl with a labelmaker

It’s that time of year…pumpkin pies, hot soups and apple butter! This super easy recipe is made in a slow cooker…

APPLE BUTTER

YOU WILL NEED:

-6 lbs. apples, peeled, cored and sliced

-2 cups sugar

-1 cup brown sugar

-1/2 cup water

-1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

-1 tablespoon cinnamon

-1 teaspoon cloves

-1 teaspoon allspice

-1 teaspoon nutmeg

WHAT TO DO:

-Begin by peeling, slicing and coring the apples…Clean-up tip: Line a large pot with a grocery bag to scoop cores and peels into as you go along…-Add apples, water, sugars, vinegar, cinnamon, cloves, allspice and nutmeg to slow cooker…go ahead and turn the cooker to a high heat so things can begin softening/mixing together…

(I thought I had ground cloves but they were whole, so I just chopped them up in the magic bullet. I will warn you: the cloves made a filmy residue on the magic bullet container that won’t scrub off, so just make sure you have a container you can dedicate to spices and grinding)

-Stir this all together the best you can, because my Crock-Pot was full to the top I was pretty much just turning the apples into the mixture to coat it all evenly…-Cover and cook on high for 3 hours

-After 3 hours reduce heat to low for 10-15 hours…this depends on consistency, the end product will vary depending on type and freshness of apples. If the apple butter is not thickening to your desire, you can remove the lid and let it cook for a few hours uncovered.

-Here’s what I did:

 *7pm cooked on high for 3 hours…

 *10pm cooked on low overnight…

 *8am I stirred the mixture together, I know removing the lid from a slow cooker is a no-no(because it lets the heat escape) but I wanted to make sure everything was mixed well since it was so full when it started. Left on high while I went to work…

  *4pm I used my hand mixer (on low) to break up any apple chunks and get that smooth consistency, an immersion blender probably would have been more efficient but I don’t have one and the hand mixer got the job done. Continued to cook on high with lid off…

  *5pm I started canning the apple butter! Processed in a hot water bath for 15 minutes. This batch made 8 jelly jars with a tiny bit leftover that I put in the fridge. I haven’t tried but have heard it freezes well too.

In real life they're all the same color...some are hiding in the shadows, and the jars in the back are nectarine jam!


