Skip to content

LittleMrsOrganized

I'm just a girl with a labelmaker

A few weeks ago I made pickles for the first time ever! As soon as they sealed I tucked them in the back of the cabinet and tried to forget about them for a few weeks…it worked because it’s been 5 weeks and I just saw them and realized – it’s time to eat the pickles!! Being my first pickle making experience I decided to use the Ball Kosher Dill Pickle Mix, next time I plan on mixing my own spices. I used the small batch packet…I followed the directions on the back of the Pickle Mix but here’s a rough outline of how it went down…

Wash and cut the cucumbers, I laid a jar on it’s side on the counter to measure the length of the spears

Add pickle mix to water and vinegar on stove

(I sware I wash my pots and pans)

Pack spears into jars and ladle hot pickling liquid into the jars. Process in hot water bath for 15 minutes.

Now the hardest part…wait 4-6 weeks…I’m tellin’ ya…it’s super easy! If you’ve never made pickles and have always wanted to give it a try, I highly recommend goin’ for it!

THE TASTING…

I’ll start by saying YUM! I love pickles so I don’t know that it would take too much to please me though. I did notice that they could use a bit more crunch, next time I will add a bit extra pickle crisp. I would also like to add some fresh dill and, as I said, experimenting with my own spice concoction. Other than those couple things I would have to say I’m pretty pleased and am already thinking about the next batch!

Anybody made pickles lately? Have any tips or ideas about pickle making?

 

Tags: , ,

