Skip to content

LittleMrsOrganized

I'm just a girl with a labelmaker

Finally pulled out the ol pasta machine!

After making ricotta cheese from this recipe here (YUM!) I was instantly motivated to make some sort of pasta to stuff it into…ravioli!

They weren’t all beautiful, and the sauce was better than it looked..here’s how it all went down…

MAKING THE PASTA DOUGH…

YOU WILL NEED:

-1Β  3/4 cups flour, plus extra for dusting

-Pinch of salt

-2 eggs, lightly beaten

WHAT TO DO:

-Measure and sift flour and salt onto the counter, yep…right onto the counter.

-Make a well in the center and pour in eggs…-Using your fingers start to add the flour into the egg, I don’t think there’s really any easy way to do this…just work quickly before the egg runs halfway down your counter!

-Knead for about 10 minutes.

-If your dough is too soft, add more flour. If it’s too firm, add a little water.

-Shape dough into a ball and wrap in plastic wrap, let rest on counter for 15 minutes.

 

MAKING THE RAVIOLI FILLING…

YOU WILL NEED:

-1 portobello mushroom

-1-2 tbsp. olive oil (or butter)

-2 cloves garlic

-1 cup ricotta

-1/2 block of frozen spinachΒ  (A note on the spinach: I would recommend using cooked fresh spinach…although the end result was still very tasty, I think it would have tasted a lot…well, more fresh.)

WHAT TO DO:

-Chop up and saute the portobello in olive oil until they get all juicy…

-Prepare the spinach (thaw or cook depending on which route you went). Then chop it up…

ignore the portobello chunks on the knife πŸ˜‰

-Mix the portobello, spinach and ricotta…

now refrain from eating that with a spoon πŸ˜‰

TIME TO ROLL THE PASTA!

YOU WILL NEED:

-Prepared pasta dough

-A Pasta machine

-Extra flour for sprinkling on counter, pasta and machine to keep everything from sticking

WHAT TO DO:

-Pinch off half or 1/3 of the dough ball (leaving the rest in the plastic so it doesn’t dry out)

-Set the pasta machine to the thickest setting (Mine is a #7, you may want to read directions for yours).

-Basically, feed the dough into the rollers…-Fold it over and run it through on the #7 (or thickest) setting 2-3 more times

-Adjust down one thickness and run the sheet through 2-4 times, and so on until you get to the thinnest setting. This may mean cutting the sheet in half as it gets stretched out, just lay the other half on the floured counter and pick up with that sheet on the thickness level you were on.-Now here’s where I learned a few things…I did some online research on how to go about making the actual ravioli. First I tried this method…Line one sheet with “piles” of the filling, wet the area around the filling (with fingers or pastry brush) so pasta will stick together, then place the other sheet down on top and cut around each “pile” with a pizza cutter. Sounds easy enough right? Well not for me, I lost about half of my ravioli due to rips and oozes –not really lost, we fried ’em in some oil while waiting on the others to cook πŸ™‚ One of my problems in doing it this way was that massively crooked edge on the top piece of rolled out dough, the other was trying to make sure every edge stuck down the right way at the same time…without ripping the sheet!
As I started on the next sheet, Mr.Logical suggested to do one row of filling down the middle, cut each one out and then wet edges and fold over! Genius! -I played with all kinds of different ways to “seal” these up, technically just the water and pressing it together is enough but I was too afraid of all of my hard work ending up as a watery soup when we cooked them. In the end, I prefer to just use a fork to crimp the edges…

-Carefully cook your pasta in a large pot of boiling water, remember that fresh pasta will cook faster.

-When they are done carefully scoop each ravioli out with a large slotted spoon, drain in a colander and place on plate.

-Top with sauce and freshly grated parmesan!

THE SAUCE…

So I wasn’t a huge fan of the sauce I made…basically I made an alfredo based sauce, sort of. I simmered some garlic and butter, and added some cream and parmesan. I’m being vague partly because I didn’t really measure any of it out and partly because I have a better sauce to suggest…

CREAMY MUSHROOM SAUCE

YOU WILL NEED:

-Mushrooms, I used baby portobello, but any will work

-1 cup heavy whipping cream

-Pepper (and salt, if you prefer)

-1-2 tablespoons of flour (if necessary…read below)

WHAT TO DO:

-Chop up and saute the mushrooms until they get all juicy – add minced garlic if you want (deja vu right?)

-Add cream and simmer until sauce begins to thicken.

-If sauce doesn’t thicken to your liking, stir in some flour – 1 tablespoon at a time.

-Add salt and pepper as you wish.

ENJOY!…and have a lovely weekend…

Tags: , , , ,

